This Tuesday, May 31st, sixteen teams of European Football Clubs participated in the European Walking Football League tournament organised by EFDN in Breda.

This Walking Football event gathered players in the age range of 50+ from clubs from the United Kingdom, Germany, Hungary Portugal, Spain, Norway, Belgium, and the Netherlands.

In the first edition of the European Walking Football League tournament, Schalke 04 took home the first championship, with Athletic Club Foundation being placed second. German team Eintracht Frankfurt earned the Fair Play trophy, while Spanish team Real Betis Foundation managed to finish the tournament undefeated.

For those new to this sport, Walking Football is simply football without running. Playing the game at a more feasible pace eliminates barriers and provides greater accessibility to the sport for people over 50+.

This type of football is open to participants who wish to continue to engage in football, but who may have previously been forced to stop playing the game they love due to age or injury. Walking Football and other forms of Walking Sport have become an increasingly popular form of physical activity and sports participation in Europe. One of the key elements of walking football is its social aspect. Walking football players have the opportunity to connect with other teammates and players from other teams after the training sessions and matches. This aspect of walking football helps facilitate social inclusion, improving participants’ overall wellbeing.

The following teams participate in this tournament: ADO Den Haag (Netherlands), Athletic Club (Spain), Bayer 04 Leverkusen (Germany), FC Schalke 04 (Germany), Foundation 92 of Salford City FC (United Kingdom), Ferencváros (Hungary), Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany), SL Benfica (Portugal), Real Betis Balopié (Spain), PSV Foundation (Netherlands), Rangers Charity Foundation (United Kingdom), Newcastle United Foundation (United Kingdom), Vålerenga Fotball (Norway), Morton in the Community Trust (United Kingdom), NAC Oldstars (Netherlands) and Club Brugge Legends (Belgium).