The Second edition of the EFDN Walking Football League Tournament will be hosted by Project Partner club Bayer 04 Leverkusen on the 22nd of September.

The first edition took place in Breda (The Netherlands), with 16 participating teams. Schalke 04 lifted the Champions trophy, while Eintracht Frankfurt was crowned as Fair Play Champion.

What’s new?

For the next tournament, the format will expand from 16 teams to 20 teams, giving the opportunity to men and women over 50 year old from across Europe to join for this event. The matches will take place at the Bayer 04 Leverkusen training ground, and the participants will join a number of events jointly with Bayer 04 Leverkusen fans, joining them at the BayArena.

Up to 10 players per team, aged over 50 year old, will participate in September.

There are 13 confirmed teams from the European Football for Development Network, and other members have shown their interest in participating. The full list of participants will be announced in the upcoming weeks!

In the meantime, you can show your interest to join and learn more by sending an email to